The Bench

I am pleased to say that after what seemed like an endless search I have found my little bench. Like I said before I was looking anywhere I could for a used bench since the price for a new one starts at $200. A & A jewelery supply had one that was $175 but it has been out of stock for a while. I have to say that if you are looking to buy a new one, I found that from all the places that I looked including riogrande.com and ottofrei.com, A & A has the lowest prices.

This bench is the least expensive one ($199) they have and it seems pretty nice:

However, it’s important to include the price of shipping, gas (if you are picking it up), rental truck, or whatever it might be in your total cost before you make your decision. Also what is important to realize is that somethings become more expensive when they have a particular label. For example a Jeweler’s Bench is much more expensive than a regular sturdy desk with a clamped or screwed on bench pin. Same thing with the torch, if you buy a torch from a jewelry supplier as a “Jeweler’s torch” it’s much more expensive than if you buy it from a welding supplier.

If you are looking for a used one my advice is be patient and check everyday on all possible sites. I checked Craigslist everyday and for a week or two there were no new posts that had anything to do with Jeweler’s bench, and suddenly one day two postings showed up. Also when you are searching type in many different key words for the search, I typed in “Jeweler’s Bench”, “Jewelers Bench”, “Jewelry workbench”, and so on  and although a lot of times the same things would come up, there were a few times that items I had not seen before would appear when a different key was put in.

The first bench I found was a watch maker’s bench which although it was old looked pretty nice with many drawers and what looked like a large work surfaces for $150. I checked on riogrande and found one similar to it for around $500, so I decided to check it out. The lady selling it made it sound like there were people waiting in line to buy it so I felt like I had to get there fast.

My boyfriend asked a friend of his for his Van and we headed out to Seal Beach to see the bench. It was a lot more beat up than it looked in the pictures. The legs had huge cracks in them, causing the bench to wobble. The lady was willing to bring the price down, but since I am not a very handy person when it comes to fixing things, I decided to keep looking.

That same day another lady named Barbara, whose bench I inquired about called me. A very interesting old lady who was a little grumpy and somewhat demanding. I was a little hesitant to meet with her but the bench she was selling seemed to be in a good shape. Having learned from my first experience, I asked Barbara a few questions about the sturdiness of the bench and whether it was in a good condition or not. After the interrogation, I was convinced that this time I would not be disappointed.

My boyfriend and I decided to go with his 1989 Ford Bronco, which burns a lot of gas and leaks oil, but we had no other option.

Barbara had the bench stored some where in Crescenta Highlands, which is about 28 miles away from me. It cost me about $40 for gas and oil and the bench was listed for $165. After my boyfriend helped her move a chair, she was guilted into knocking down the price by $20, so at the end the bench cost me $185. I was feeling a little upset at first, thinking I should have tried to bargain with her a little more, or waited for a better deal, but a little live music in the car performed by my boyfriend

and I was feeling much better.

Barbara had said that there are some things inside the drawers of the bench that I could have. Among all the goodies in there, I found about an ounce of silver scraps, 6 inches of silver tubing, about 3 inches of 14k gold wire, and a small wooden mallet.

I concluded that the findings compensated for the overpricing. Needless to say I am pretty happy with my bench.

Word of Advice: Take someone with you when you are going to meet someone from Craigslist or anywhere else on the internet, you don’t know what kind of person you are meeting.

I will show you pictures of my bench soon along with pictures of my studio. Also stay tuned for The Torch Story episode 2! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The Bench

Leave a Reply

