The Set Up Wrap Up

Yes, I am finally back! I’m sorry it took me so long! This episode of My Little Start is going to be a short one. I’m going try to wrap up the shop set up in this post so I can start talking about the things that are being made.

First of all: Bench Story Episode 2

I am reopening the case on the bench only to show you some pictures of it and the goodies found in there and the set up of the pin.

I did mention some of the items found in the bench in my last post, but as I explored the bench more closely I found even more wonderful treasures.

Off the top of my head:

Tools, Wax, and Stones

Red Wax Blocks: for carving anything my heart desires (although to be quite honest I am not much of a carver/caster)

Wax File: one large one to be used on the red blocks

Steel Block: I was specially excited about this item since I don’t have an anvil and I was planning on purchasing one like the one found in the desk

Small Wooden Mallet: even though I am not a big fan of wooden mallets, it is nice to have one handy

Plastic Ring Sizer: sure it’s a cheap plastic one and I wasn’t planning on acquiring one, but it’s nice to have it around

Cabochons: five, which are green and pink similar to Persian pistachios (which are by the way definitely the best pistachios in the world :D), I am not sure what kind of stone they are

Other small tools, glues, and such that I can’t remember

Silver, Gold, and Solder

Silver Step Bezel Wire: about 5 inches of it

Silver Discs: ten 1/2 inch ones, six 1 inch ones with a hole drilled in the center, three small ones that are a little thicker gauge than the others, and four tiny ones that have hammer textures

Silver Earring Posts: which I have already used with the silver discs to make 3 pairs of earrings 😀

Silver Tubing: about 7 inches

Silver Scrap: about 3 ounces

Silver Solder: variety of soft, medium, and hard in sheet, paste, and wire (although I am not sure if the paste is still good)

Gold 14k Wire: about 5 inches (great for granulation)

Gold Filled Clasps: 3 fancy ones from Rio

Other Findings

Small Ziploc Bags

Base Metal Brooch Backs

Surgical Steel Earring Posts

Earring Cards (black and off-white)

So, as you can see, I got a deal on the bench. I should say that when I picked up the bench I asked her if she wanted the items in it, she said that they come with the bench, and briefly went through them again before we took it out of her storage unit, otherwise I would be compelled to notify her of the treasures found.

Ok, I didn’t want to show you pictures of the studio just yet, but the bench forced me to.

Before you see the bench in the studio I have to tell you a little about the studio situation.

The space that is set up as my studio is basically a cubicle in a huge warehouse. The warehouse is divided into 13 cubicle-like spaces that are each rented out to a different artist. Most artists use their space to paint, there are a few 3D artists there, but I am the only jewelry designer. I will elaborate more on the space later, I just wanted you to have some idea of it before seeing the pictures.

(please sing the following) Lonely, oh so Lonely…:D (ok you may stop singing, or not) My little lonely bench in the space before everything was set up. Today, perhaps it longs for those lonely days for now it is piled with things.

Here is another picture of it, not so lonely…(my wonderful lovely boyfriend, Moshir, is heading over to it to dust it off)

And, here is a little proof that I really did find the treasures mentioned..

       

and finally, Leighann at work, setting up my bench pin (Thanks Leighann!)

The opening for the bench pin was a little too small for the bench pins that came with it, so Leighann sanded the pin until it fit snug into the gap. You are probably wishing at this point that you had a friend like Leighann! 😀 I know!

OK, so…..I think I lied, I thought this post would be short and would wrap up the set up, but it has failed at both, but I hope that it was entertaining enough to bring you back! As for Mr. Nejat and Razmik, they will have to wait for next post.

Thanks for reading!!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Set Up Wrap Up

  1. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I believe that
    you should write more on this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t speak about these issues. To the next! All the best!!streetdirectory

  2. yay look at all that room! good for you! can’t wait to here about where your studio is woman, glad your still working hard! ❤

Leave a Reply

