Kick Start Your Dream….

“Pen to Paper: My Imaginary Friend” Children’s Book

I absolutely hate that it takes me so long to come back to write again. I always have so much that I want to tell you and so I always wait for the perfect time when I can sit for a couple of hours and just write.

Well, it’s just not practical, so I am resorting to a little posts, but hopefully more frequent.

I am writing to tell you about two websites that have just baffled my mind. Actually I have to say that what shocks me more is that I had not heard about these sites sooner. When I learned about these two sites I felt the need to tell everyone I know immediately, but then when I started telling people, they weren’t so shocked, in fact they knew about it all along.

Anyway.. I hope I didn’t built up your expectation too much…

So the sites are:

Kickstarter

and

Indiegogo

The significance of both these sites is that it is where YOUR creative amazing ideas can get funded. Everyday people helping each other reach their dreams and goals.

Ok… say you have a brilliant idea, like making 500 pairs of earrings for a gallery show, to donate, or to give as gifts. You have the talent, but, you don’t have the money for the materials, tools, and to hire help, so at this point, maybe you get discouraged, and you think “oh well, it’s never gonna happen” or you ask a few friends and family, and they love the idea, but they can only help a little bit, which wont nearly cover the entire cost.

What Kickstar and Indiegogo both do is they connect your brilliant idea to your social network and beyond, giving people who love your idea a chance to support it. As simple as that.

You don’t have to pay any money to put your project up, there is no starting cost. All rights to your ideas are yours, they don’t become share holders, they simply donate. Of course, you can increase their incentive to donate by providing a “reward” such as a handmade thank you card for a donation of $5.00 or a handmade pin for a donation of $20. I think you get my drift. Those who run the website get 4% of your money when your goal is reach and you have received it.

This is the point where my beautiful, wonderful cousin pointed out that people can and in fact do lie and can just take the money and do absolutely nothing with it but fund their indulgences.

This is definitely a possibility but it is an amazing thing that, despite this, projects are being funded everyday, which means, in the face of the darkness that exists, people are willing to take a leap of faith.

Now differences between the two site:

Kickstarter has more restrictions on the type of projects that can be presented (there are no projects saying “please help me pay my loans”!), and because of this the site seems more reputable and legitimate. However, a big downfall of Kickstart is that if you do not reach the exact amount of your goal (which you set for yourself) you don’t get any of the money.  Your donators don’t get charged until you reach your deadline (which you also set for yourself (30-60 days)), so if you only reach $1500 of your $2000 goal by the end of your deadline you will get $0.

Indiegogo is much more liberal in what can be funded, and hence has those people who are looking for funds to “pay for their sick child” or “pay for their educational trip to Paris”, but believe it or not even those “projects” are being funded. A great perk of this site is that it has a “flexible” plan, which means that you can keep what ever amount you manage to raise in your given time even if it’s way below your set goal. The site however takes 9% of your total if the goal is not reached completely and 4% of it if it’s reached.

So there you have it!! Isn’t this amazing?? I really think that something like this should be shared!! There is plenty of support to go around to everyone, so share the love and tell people!!

And now that you have no financial excuse to hold you back, the two things you have to think about are…

“What is my passion calling me to do? and What is stopping me now?”

These are the questions I am contemplating on!

ps. so much for a short post!!!

Leave a Reply

