Sound Healing!

I was a bit hesitant to go to a sound healing gathering, I thought it might be too weird for my taste, but really it was amazing!!! I had never been able to sit still in meditation for 45 minutes. I would normally not be able to sit still for even 10 minutes. I have to say that being present was the key element that helped me with it, and also important was that the conductor of the session, Lynda from Sacred Roots, was very sweet, genuine, and open.

I don’t think anything has been as wonderful and as effective in bringing me peace as being present. I find it somewhat easy. It is not easy to maintain it, but it’s not a difficult exercise. Doesn’t require intellect, sitting for hours, or chanting, it’s a matter of shifting your focus. It is accessible at any given instant, you just have to shift your attention to your thoughts. Recognize your thinking voice as a voice, not as yourself. Imagine that someone else is talking, when you think. That is all!! literally! You don’t have to stop the thought, there is nothing you have to do but to watch it, then shift your focus to your breath.

What you will notice happening is that you will continuously identify with your thought and the voice in your head as yourself.. you might say “well obviously I am the one thinking”. No, it’s your mind.. your mind is talking.. and you are listening to it like it’s you. You are the consciousness that observes the mind. This seems abstract but if you only listen to your thoughts, then you have created a space, there is you, and then there is your thoughts, you as the watcher is the real you. Why is it the real you? Because there is peace in it, true peace, comfort and presence.

The Eckhart Tolle interview I posted yesterday explains it perfectly.

Also wanted to share this (6×6 inches, acrylic) painting I did today, which was so much fun to do, because I stayed present (mindful) I can say about 80% of the time I was painting it. There is great joy to be experienced when things are done in the state of awareness.

10985364_10152627797538021_6182379753584840456_nIt needs a some adjustments but not bad for 4 hours and no under drawing!! 🙂 so much fun!!

3 thoughts on “Sound Healing!

  1. Those 4 hours paid off, great painting.
    Being present is hard at times. Sometimes thinking about good or bad times of the past take over our thoughts. Stressing over what’s to come in the future.
    But its true, once you can be in the moment, in the present it is great.

    • That is true, I just like that you don’t have to do anything. You don’t have to change your behavior, you have to shift your focus. Of course your behavior and choices change as a result of it sometimes, but really all you have to do watch yourself think. Imagine every thought even good ones, even the ones about this moment are being said by someone else in your mind. It’s been truly liberating.. I mean I can maybe do it 40% percent of the time, but I think with practice I can get there.

Leave a comment